Coming to a close….

I’m soon coming to the end of my photography course and I will say I have learnt a lot and it definitely made certain things easier in terms of taking quality photos and the factors that impact them.

When I first started I was a bit lost, mainly because I missed the first class due to work so when I came to like completing the assignment I was a bit unsure on a lot of things but as time progress I have improved practically and theoretically. I have a better understanding of different lenses and what my next lens or lenses will be which are a Prime ( Macro lens specifically) and Telephoto lens.

I also need to buy a new laptop which I already have an idea of what it’s gonna be but I can’t make a decision so hastily since either choice will be pricey because of specifications needed to run the different types of software I will use like Photoshop, Priemer Pro etc. I currently run Photshop and Lightroom on my ipad but those versions of those software can only do so much and isn’t adequate for thorough editing.

A few people in class, edit some of their work whether it be to darken a photo, remove trash or just enhancing the colours. During this course I haven’t edited just because I want not to go into a mindset where I shoot something and be like ehh I can just edit that out. I know I will need to edit my work at times but I don’t want to become lazy and be heavily dependent on it whether it be for increasing grain or lightning a photo or removing a cup in the background or creating a shallow depth of field by blurring the background.

Repetition is key so even after the course is finished, I will be still be going out taking different type of shots, trying to perfect them and have less work to do when it comes time to edit.

I know I mentioned I will post some of my work on here which I may still do but i will also post on work on my Art Instagram account:https://instagram.com/julian.visualz?igshid=6hk6ytktmehf

I must also say this class has put me more out of my comfort zone. In the beginning I felt weird going out in public places at times taking photos but as I did it more, the less uncomfortable I felt and the more at ease I was so instead of I trying to take shots quickly, I just take my time and look over the shots I have taken before I leave a location.

Overall I’m happy I decided to take it 1. To improve my photography skills and 2. to produce self growth which I have accomplished.

Leave a comment